top of page
Search By Tags
Featured Posts
  • Writer's pictureWritten by Joshua Smith

Pick-a-Card Series 6 (Premium Pack)

Nice of you to stop by again so soon! As I expected, after releasing the last batch (the first released in four years) I was berated with countless requests for more cards. Sounds like you're developing a problem with addiction. But buyer beware...only the first hit was free. This next set is going to cost you quite a bit of that allowance you've been saving up!


Let's open 'er up and see what we've got today...


Cripes! Oh my God! I've been waiting for the day I finally get an Anthony Stidham card. This guy was the BEST! Few guys have entered the league with more odds against them than this guy. He started his career in 2015 on the Plain White Tees - a whipping team that comprised of whatever players decided to show up each week. Anthony was one of the only players on that team with faithful attendance and he earned my undying respect for that. When I was starting a team in 2016, he was my first call. I figured a guy who can take a beating the whole season on a team he knew no one - that's a solid teammate. And I wasn't disappointed! Stidham is one of the greats!


Oh, it must be my lucky day! A genuine Brice Clark rookie card!? I think as you look at our league as a whole and the varying forms of competition and formats we had, a guy like Brice would have been in the top echelon in any incarnation of the league. The man could hit the ball a mile, throw smoke and junk on the mound, run his ass off and field anything hit his direction. The guy could do it all! On top of this, he captioned the Mothmen franchise and championed the draft year in 2017. He also led two NWLA teams (Saved By The Balls and Mothmen) and played a major role in running the league in 2017 & 2018. After the league went on hiatus in 2019, he started his own league in Mason, WV called Wild and Wonderful Wiffle where he has hosted occasional tournaments. Brice has become the new torchbearer of the sport in the state of West Virginia.


Another Mothmen card? Seriously? Outrageous! And a Brandon Metzger card at that! The Mothmen had a revolving door of nearly a dozen players between 2016-2018 but Metzger was one of the mainstays. He was a fairly quiet player and I didn't speak directly with him much but we enjoyed some laughs. He was a solid player and one that any team would have been lucky to have. He put up some great numbers! Over his three season career he hit .572 with 41 HRs and 56 RBIs. This is a solid find!


Oh man, a Rocket Boys card! Hot Dog I just got my first one in the last pack! And what a card to get, a Brice Leep card. He was probably their best all-around player. I first met Brice in 2016 when he was part of the original Rocket Boys squad that joined the league that year. He was a fairly reserved guy but let the bat do the talking. His lanky frame made him a natural contact to power hitter and excellent fielder. He was commonly seen with a towel over his shoulder or tucked into his waistband, a move usually reserved for bald men in their 50's... a strange sight for a kid that was maybe 20 years old at the time. One fun fact about Brice is that he's the only Rocket Boy to ever play on a HWL team other than the Rocket Boys (he played on the Thunder Ducks team in 2018). What a great find!


Wait. What? Do my eyes deceive me? A third Mothmen card? I've called him several names but very seldom his God-given name, Tyler Roush. Despite me constantly calling him 40 different names, he's earned my respect as a player. It's easy to fade into the background on a team like the Mothmen. You have a superstar like Brice Clark dominating in all categories and Brandon Metzger making just a lot of noise as well. It is easy to forget that behind all that flash, there is a player that is as solid as they come, and that's Tyler Roush. I've seen him play in HWL and in tournaments outside the league and he can flat-out play. You've got to appreciate a workhorse player like this in your lineup! He had a three year career in the league hitting .631 with 69 HRs and 124 RBIs. Just look at those numbers!


Wow...this is very special. A Patrick Rayl card! I don't think I have to tell you why this card is special...but I will anyway. Patrick is the only other person to preside as commissioner over the league aside from myself. I could go on about his role as a leader of the league but I've written extensively on the subject already. Instead, I'd like to focus on him as a teammate and just as a dude. Patrick had a four year career in the league and was a teammate of mine on Make Wiffleball Great Again in 2016 and I had a blast playing with him. Just when I thought I had taken the antics as far as I could, he'd find a way to squeeze a little more out of whatever bit we were doing. He was a pretty good pitcher and average hitter and fielder but he is best known for being a team captain (Pitch Slappers and NWLA qualifier team - The Blizzard). But he also would sometimes pull up his shorts and tuck them into his boxer legs which would blind others on the field with his pale skin, a move I came to know as 'the whiteout.' I'll definitely cherish this card!


57 views
bottom of page